Welcome to Orange Frog Productions Scams, Shams & Flim-Flams Section [Banner]

Page Title:

Nigerian Scam - January 16, 2007

Please be sure to read my Nigerian Scams Home Page

NOTE: This page Under Construction/Conversion
This page has not been completely converted to OFPv2 Standards.
When this is completed, this paragraph will go away.
Meanwhile, all external links on this page open a new window.

Things I Did, Below

I, personally, receive email in HTML format. The following was received (and looked) like I received it. At the time, I was more interested in the message than the headers and do not have the original. This is a copy I forwarded to myself as I sent it to my father.

  • I removed my email addresses. These came to various accounts and some no longer exist. There are places on this site you can get hold of me if you wish or need to. They are protected from spambots using JavaScript, but all you have to do is click on them.
  • All scammer and related email addresses, and any actual website links have been changed, at least putting spaces into them. They appear as underlined blue links, though they aren't.
  • Any notes I added in the actual letter are in square brackets ("[" "]"), are bold, red in color, and highlighted. If what I found "behind the links" (email or website) are different than what was displayed, I will include them in this type of note.
  • All spelling, spacing, line-wrapping, and punctuation errors are the ones that appeared in the original received email. (I may or may not analyze some or all of these.)

Scam Example
Received 01/16/2007

DEAR FRIEND,

First, let me start by introducing myself as AKIKO YAMANAKA, Ms, A mother of three children and the Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs in Japan Government since 17 June 2005 to date, under the Auspices of the President of Japan, MR KAZUO OGURAI. You can view my profile at my website http://www.mofa.go.jp/about/hq/profile/yamanaka.html

In 1996 when I was a Member of the House of Representatives, my husband MR.ROH YAMANAKA and his associates had funds entrusted in care of my husband. After some months, these same associates roped my husband in a case which resulted to a treat to his life and some of his assets have been seized, so he has to be out of   circulation. I later discovered that he had some funds which amounted to the tune of US$20.5M with a Security company in London.

This fund emanated as a result of an over-invoiced contract which he executed with the Government of Japan. Though I assisted him in getting this contract but I never knew that it was over invoiced by him.

I am afraid that the government of Japan might start to investigate on contracts awarded from 1996 to date. If they discover this money with the security company, they will confiscate it and seize his remaining assets here in Japan and this will definitely affect my political career in Government.

However, I'll need your assistance, to help me in securing the funds, as to invest, and further purchase of properties for my family I am convinced that we can invest in your country with your guidance.

Please I do not need to remind you of the need for absolute confidentiality if this Transaction must succeed. I thank you very much for taking time to go through my mail, and hope to read from your reply soon.

Thanks for your anticipated co-operation.
Regards to your family,

Yours faithfully,
Akiko YAMANAKA, Ms
Vice Minister for Foreign Affairs, (VMFA).


[NOTE: I left names, email addresses, and phone numbers in here for the search engines to find. DO NOT TRY TO CONTACT THEM! I'm SURE you will be ripped off! -LE]

Email Headers

[DO NOT send email to any of the following email addresses]

X-Message-Status: n:0
X-SID-PRA: Nobody <nobody @ h10.llord.com>
X-Message-Info: LsUYwwHHNt3iCJVDpyeVxBx2hKU/Czx3LUkWzQuZ/nw=
Received: from h10.llord.com ([999.999.999.999 - ISP Masked]) by bay0-mc3-f19.bay0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.2444);
Tue, 16 Jan 2007 07:22:32 -0800
Received: from nobody by h10.llord.com with local (Exim 4.63)
(envelope-from <nobody @ h10.llord.com>)
id 1H6q8r-0004Kf-G5
for [my email address]; Tue, 16 Jan 2007 16:22:29 +0100
To: [my email address]
Subject: Your investment co-ordination is needed
From: Vice Minister Akiko Yamanaka <viceministerakiko @ minister.jp>
Reply-To: akikoyamanaka @ myway.com
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Message-Id: <E1H6q8r-0004Kf-G5 @ h10.llord.com>
Sender: Nobody <nobody @ h10.llord.com>
Date: Tue, 16 Jan 2007 16:22:29 +0100
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - h10.llord.com
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - hotmail.com
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [99 500] / [47 12]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - h10.llord.com
X-Source:
X-Source-Args: /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd
X-Source-Dir: missinterneteuroregion.com:/public_html/
information/superquiz/img_quiz/.m

Return-Path: nobody @ h10.llord.com
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 16 Jan 2007 15:22:32.0824 (UTC) FILETIME=[24BCE780:01C73982]

Notes

Problems I see:

  • Obvious (to me, anyway) errors:
    • from the email, itself:
      • The email is addressed to "Dear Friend", yet appeared to use only my email address. If the email was directed to me, why wasn't my name, or at least the email username, used? (Oh... And I WASN'T the only one to receive it... See Heads up! (fraud) (Volksdevil VAG Forum) - VR6riggs - November 13, 2006 05:03 PM (GMT) (Use your browser's Find, enter "Roh", and you'll find it)
      • The name looks cut-and-pasted into two places. It also looks more like a Genealogical treatment ("Akiko YAMANAKA, Ms"), with the surname being all caps and the given name in upper-/lower-case, and the prefix going last. Kinda strange type of treatment, isn't it?
      • The capitalizing of the other names, is strange, too..
      • This lady, Professor Akiko Yamanaka: graduated from Department of English, Faculty of Liberal Arts and Tsuda College, a Visiting Professor at the Graduate School of International Media and Communication and Hokkaido University (International Negotiation Strategy), and Visiting Scholar at the Japan Institute of International Affairs.. The English in this email is atrocious, even giving EXTREMELY liberal "benefits of the doubt" for not being British or American. I think she's much to educated to make the errors in this email, even accounting for typos.
      • Why would a person of her stature send an email to me, a relative nobody, instead of one of her known contacts, especially given the fact "she" wants me "to help [her] in securing the funds, as to invest, and further purchase of properties for my family ...[I]nvesting in your country with your guidance." I would be willing to bet she knows MUCH more about "investing in my country" than I ever even though of!
      • If you'll notice in the Email Headers, it was sent from one email address (minister.jp, which  doesn't appear to be any type of official site), and the reply would go to another (at MyWay.com). This sets off red-flags, especially for any email I believe MAY be a Scam email.
    • from the Email Headers:
      • llord.com is a site in France offering Web Services. I didn't see an email setup (translated site from French through Google translator), but I'm sure there's one there. Why was this sent from France, and Who is "nobody?"
      • There IS a website address www.minister.jp, but it's a blank page (only base HTML)
      • MyWay.com is a portal site, offering free email services. I doubt VERY much that the "Vice Minister" of ANY branch of any country has an account with them, especially under their own name.
      • The "Anit-Abuse" headers state that the originating domain is Hotmail.com. Strange that no other email address above, except mine, said ANYTHING about Hotmail.
      • MissInternetEuroInternational.com also points to France. Even when attempting to hide their "offer" to someone, why would a Japanese Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs use anything but more "natural" email addresses like Hotmail, Yahoo, Iwon, etc.?


Send comments/questions about this page to Bill Sanders at:

Go to Next Nigerian Scam Example (Last in list is not a link)
Return to OFPv2/SSFF - Scams - TYPE Scam Home page

Send email to Bill Sanders ()
with questions or comments about this page or site.


This site, all text and graphics (unless otherwise noted) on it
were designed, developed and published by Bill Sanders of Orange Frog Productions.
It and it's CSS was validated and complies with both the: CSS and HTML 4.01 validators from W3C.
NOTE: All CSS validates except the "New Window Buttons" which include some invalid code (ie: hacks),
added PicoSearch Tables, and warnings for using transparent backgrounds when color foregrounds defined.

Copyright © 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 by Bill Sanders / Full site last modified: October 21, 2006
Any reproduction, printing, or selling of this content is prohibited without express written consent from William D. Sanders.
ctr